SAN FRANCISCO — Netflix is testing a new pop-up message that warns people who are sharing a password — and don't live with the password holder — that they need to pony up and pay for their own account.

"If you don't live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching," reads the message that a limited group of people saw on their TVs, according to screenshots from online publications The Streamable and GammaWire. The service then offers a free initial trial.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.